Bluetrait

Loading
search


Posts:
Comments:

Popular posts

Click here if you are looking for Bluetrait, the weblog software.

Login:

Username:

Password:

Another form of spam

Posted by Michael Dale on Sun, 13 Feb 2005 8:53 AM

Lots of people have been receiving some form of spam on their web logs. So far I haven't had that problem, until 2 days ago. Over the last few days I have been getting referrer spam. You may have not noticed it (that's good!) but it making its way into my log files.

There are a few users who are constantly hitting my site with different referrer urls. None of these people are actually coming from these sites. The referrer url is just placed in the script so that these address may appear on my website.

The only place these addresses are showing is on my awstats page.
Spam on awstats
I've since then added a rule to the robots.txt file to stop google etc from crawling it.

You will get no page rank for me here spammers!

The spam is coming from the following addresses [updated]:
195.95.230.20
82.80.252.170
82.80.252.229
65.75.178.80
194.67-19-187.reverse.theplanet.com
205.209.135.160
205.209.130.110
pluto.windowsforumhosting.com
ns1.viperwireless.com
205.209.148.30
jessie.hostbud.com
205.209.148.50
205.209.148.80
205.209.149.10
205.209.149.100

Feel free to try your hacking skills on them, idiots.

Take note any other spammers, I will not tolerate your crap on my website. I will not allow your urls to appear on my site.

On Sun, 13 Feb 2005 at 10:52 AM, Matthom wrote:

I'm getting plenty of that too, in my stats.

How do you stop it?


On Sun, 13 Feb 2005 at 10:59 AM, Michael Dale wrote:

I'm blocking most of it at the router.

Blocked Networks:
205.209.149.0/24
205.209.148.0/24
82.80.252.0/24

Blocked IP addresses:
195.95.230.20
65.75.178.80
205.209.135.160
205.209.130.110

You could also do this with an apache rewrite rule. Although it may still fill up your logs


On Tue, 15 Feb 2005 at 12:54 AM, Jon in Michigan wrote:

I'm glad you posted this. I started getting hit with the same thing over the weekend and people told me it was my owner server. BS!

I got reverse.theplanet the most and every time I blocked the IP, they changed it to another one. Now, I'm getting viperwireless. I suppose the others will follow. Forwarned is forarmed!

Thanks for letting me know it wasn't just me.


On Sat, 05 Mar 2005 at 9:34 PM, Shintasu wrote:

The problem for me is a little bit different...

I've got a virus killer called AVG, well known and good working. When I try to connect to my webmail, trhough Mozilla Thunderbird, the connected server is... reverse.theplanet.com!

AVG keeps blocked onto this spam IP, and doesn't connect anymore to my website IP. And when I leave the program, AVG continue trying to connect to this bloody site!

If you got any ideas, you're welcome!